Crash Test

Mail day is always fun especially when you get something other than the usual junk.  It’s even cooler when you get something sooner than expected.  Yesterday I received a test pressing of Government Issue’s “Crash.”  This was probably Government Issues least popular album.  I mean you can’t really compare this to “Boycott Stabb” or  “Joyride” (which happens to be my favorite lp from the band).  I guess it was just too different from the band’s hardcore roots that swayed people away from listening to this.

I was a freshman in high school when I first heard this album and I remember hating it.  I just couldn’t stand it.  It was too new wavey or gothy for me when I was that age.  I guess I just couldn’t appreciate it for what it was.  Forward 20 plus years later and I’m still listening this album.  It also helps that I live in the DC area and I’ve been able to see Government Issue reunions the past few years.  So yes I grew to like this album and find myself playing it every once in a while.

photo 2

photo 3

photo 1

There’s really not much to see because unlike test presses today those in the 80s didn’t come with fancy screened covers.  I was lucky that this one at least had the Giant Records stationary with the track listing taped to the jacket.  Still, I think it’s pretty cool to have and it didn’t really cost me anything to add this to the collection.  Now I just need to fill out the rest of the GI collection.

This entry was posted in Music, Vinyl Records and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

