Means the Most

So as some of you know I like to hunt down Time Flies records.  I really wanted to complete this collection sometime last year but there are a couple of pieces that were just really rare.  It’s actually pretty frustrating to get close to something but fall short due to your offer not being enough.

In fact, a couple of years ago a Time Flies test press went on eBay and I bid close to $200 on it and ended up losing it. No worries.  I was trying to get this since it was there but it really wasn’t that important at that time.

Fast forward to this year and this time two different Time Flies test presses appear on eBay. One was the “Can’t Change the Past” 7″ while the other was the self-titled 7″ put out by Invasion Records before they became Malfunction. I was trying to get both but the “Can’t Change the Past” disappeared from eBay all of a sudden.

Anyway I really wanted to get the other one. So I put a maximum bid and just hoped for the best. Well, I won the damn thing for $53. My maximum bid was $75.  Patience does really pay off!!!

DSC_0081 (1)

This particular test was sold by Curtis, one of the guitarists of the band, from his personal collection. In some cases I guess that makes it a little bit cooler that I’m getting it directly from a band member.

DSC_0084

While I originally had no intention of going after the test presses of their records, I feel that I should just give it a go since I now have this. It would be pretty damn cool if I could get a copy of the LP test press eventually.

This entry was posted in Hardcore, Music, Test Press, Vinyl Records and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Means the Most

  1. Andy says:

    Hah, I was going to bid on this, but completely forgot it was ending. One of us would have ended up paying way more for it.

    Probably for the best, since I was going after it only because it was a band member copy. I already have an uninscribed copy with that cover (and one of the other cover as well).

Leave a Reply

